Tags

Time to throw your hats up, because my apartment is BROKEN! Yes, this is intentional breaking, and about seven years in the making, if you’ve followed this saga at all. The plan is to make a new kitchen and put a new floor into our modest little abode (you can see a news feature about our tiny apartment here), and for this job, we’ve been quoted about a month’s worth of dust to avoid, so we’ve moved into a sublet during the heavy part of it. But who knows how long, really?

Here are some before and after shots of the current demolition:

Our kitchen, ready to demolish…

GAH! It’s GONE!

As frightening as this looks (I didn’t include the enormous pile of rubble in the center of the room in this update), we’re making progress. Notice that I now have a lovely French door that I can use, which had previously, due to some inexplicable error in judgement, been boarded up with a countertop in a previous renovation.

I’ll write an update tomorrow on more interesting things (can’t give out all the juicy morsels at once, can I?) we uncover as we carry on. I’ll also share a little about our new digs for the next month, but it’s not for the faint of heart. Until then, my friends, BUILD UPWARDS!